The Heir- REVIEW

Title: The Heir

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: YA, Dystopia, Romance

Pages: 352

My Rating: 2.7/5

Goodreads Link

General Opinion:

Why? That was the question I asked myself when I found out Kiera Cass was writing another Selection book. If a trilogy has a beginning and a concrete ending, why write another book when the story is already finished? There are many possible answers as to why Cass has decided to add another book to the series, and I won’t get into them, because whether you agree with it or not The Heir is here. Now, I never considered this series to be spectacular. It was just a fast-paced, cheesy “dystopian” series that I couldn’t help but be addicted to. Even if the series isn’t anything ground-breaking, I had immense fun reading it. So after I finished The Heir, I couldn’t help but feel…disappointed. And here’s why:

The Characters:

-In this novel we follow a new female protagonist, Eadlyn Schreave. Remember when everyone deemed America Singer the most frustrating and annoying character in YA? Well, America might have some competition now. Eadlyn is egotistical, whiny and a complete attention-seeker. She spends the entirety of the novel complaining about her family, the palace, the restrictions, the food, the rules, the responsibilities, the lack of freedom and everything and anything you can imagine! You can’t believe how self-centered she is, she can’t imagine that something is wrong with her or that she isn’t perfect. If I had a penny for every time she said “You are Eadlyn Schreave. No one is as powerful as you.” I would be bathing in pennies. She claims she is not afraid of anything, but then when one of the Selected guys insults her or when a fight breaks out she starts crying and is shaken up. I was so happy when her 14 year old brother told her off:

And your name will be in a history book one day, and some bored ten-year-old will memorize it for a test and then forget all about you. You have a job, just like everybody in the world. Stop acting like it makes you more or less than anyone else.

Her 14 year old brother would make a better ruler than her!!

A princess and to-be queen is supposed to be poised, mature, good-hearted, rational and kind. Eadlyn is none of those things. She uses her power as a weapon and intentionally humiliates others. I could go on and on about how awful she is and how badly she treats everyone around her!  At some moments I felt like even her parents were scared of her, which is ridiculous!

-Ok enough about Eadlyn, let’s talk about The Selected guys. I would love to say that there was one guy that stood out to me a lot, that I’m cheering for, that i want to be The One, but…there isn’t. Eadlyn was so against The Selection that she did everything in her power to make it fail. She didn’t want to hold a proper conversation for more than five minutes, making it really hard for us, the readers, to get to know any of the guys. At the beginning I really liked Kile, because he stood up to Eadlyn and didn’t like her all that much. I though it was maybe going to be a developed relationship between them going from hate to love. BUT NO. Kile turned out to be so typical, falling for Eadlyn in one quick go. He’s still my favorite, because he has a really great personality, but I just wished it would have taken him longer to like Eadlyn. Another Selected I liked was Henri, he was so cute and funny. The others, though, were just bland.

Another character that I liked was Ahern, Edlyn’s twin brother. He was funny, had a great personality and wasn’t annoying at all. He also gave Eadlyn a slap of reality at the end, which I was so grateful for.

More provinces are protesting the monarchy than you could guess. Not all of them, but plenty. And while it pains me to tell you this, the problem people have with the monarchy stems from one person: you.

The Storyline:

What storyline? The entire book is about the Selection and Eadlyn not wanting to have one. There’s a sub-story about people protesting against the monarchy, but knowing Kiera Cass, it will be overshadowed by the The Selection and have only a minor part in the upcoming 5th book. But the ending, my god. That cliffhanger was so cheap, I’m sorry! It felt like Cass had nothing to give us to want the 5th book, so she had to create a new issue. I don’t mind tragedy at all, but when it’s tragedy for the sake of tragedy, I dislike it a lot.

Overall Opinion:

I really did enjoy The Selection trilogy. It might have been a bit frustrating, but most of the characters were likable and the storyline was entertaining. But in The Heir, Eadlyn’s rotten personality ruined everything and the entire Selection process was boring, mainly because Eadlyn made it so. There were enjoyable parts in this novel, but not enough to make me give this book three stars. I’m debating whether I should bother getting the 5th book when it comes out, but knowing me I probably will.

This is all just my opinion, and if you liked The Heir, that’s fantastic! I really wish I could have as well.

I hope you all had a lovely day and I’ll see you in my next post!♥

7 thoughts on “The Heir- REVIEW

    • acrossthebooks says:

      Don’t worry! You might still like it! Just because I didn’t like it, doesn’t mean you will not like it as well:) But definitely let me know what you think of it when you finish, I would love to know♥

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Juwairiya says:

    “Why?” Same here. It’s not like there’s an extensive underworld filled with wizard gangs and ninja zombies to explore. We barely even got to know anything about the guys and their pepersonal issues. It’s one thing to have an extra book, another thing to have an extra trilogy!

    I still think America was one of the worst heroines oops. Give me bratty over placid any day~

    Liked by 1 person

    • acrossthebooks says:

      YESSS, THANK YOU FOR AGREEING JU. Love your example with wizards gangs and ninja zombies, lol♥
      Literally everyone seems to love this book, I don’t understand T.T

      Really? I don’t know, for me America was annoying because she was so indecisive, but she could be really sweet and spunky at times. But Eadlyn was just a flat out bitch, haha

      Will you be getting the 5th one??

      Like

  2. Chae Doveheart says:

    I loved Eadlyn’s personality! I liked that she was sure of herself, unlike America. The plot was extremely flawed. For example, America and Maxon have taught this woman how to rule a country on her own. How did they not manage to throw in some self-defense system. That was pretty stupid in my own opinion.
    I like the way you expressed your opinions, Mara! I agreed with the underdevelopment of the selected characters. I only liked Henri, Kile, and Erik to be frank.

    Liked by 2 people

    • acrossthebooks says:

      Thanks Chae!♥
      It seems like a lot of people liked Eadlyn more than America:D I just couldn’t stand that she was so bratty and spoiled, got on my nerves! Although America did too, and ahhh these books are so bad, haha
      Yes, seriously! Self-defense classes are such an obvious thing a future QUEEN should take.
      Do you think you’ll be getting the 5th book next year?

      Like

Leave a Reply

