Lying Out Loud- Review

Title: Lying Out Loud

Author: Kody Keplinger

Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Source: eARC from the publishers via Netgalley

Pages: 309

My rating: 3.5/5

Goodreads Link

Kody Keplinger returns to the world of The DUFF in this brand-new companion novel!

General Opinion: 

I was a really big fan of The DUFF by Kody Kepilinger when I read it last year and I have to say that Lying Out Loud didn’t exactly live up to my expectations. The beginning was excellent and very entertaining, but as the storyline progressed everything fell flat. The characters became frustrating and the ending was unsatisfying. Nevertheless, I still had fun reading it and I recommend it to anyone who’s looking for something addictive and fast-paced!

The Storyline:

The storyline revolves around Sonny, Ryder and Amy. Ryder likes Amy but Amy doesn’t like him back. So Sonny starts emailing Ryder from Amy’s account (catfishing him), to distract herself from her family drama. But things get complicated when he turns out to be a really good guy and she starts to fall for him. So now Sonny has to come up with a plan to make Ryder forget about Amy and realize she’s the one he wants. The storyline is very entertaining, angsty and addictive. Sonny gets herself tangled in such a mess that it’s sometimes hard to read. The ending, though, is what disappointed me the most! Can we please just get a satisfying ending? No? *sigh*

The Characters:

Sonny is the main character of the novel and a fantastic liar. She lies about pretty much anything and everything. At first I thought she was a very spunky and feisty character; being very energetic, sarcastic and opinionated. I admired her for it. But as soon as she found herself falling for Ryder, all those qualities flew out the window! She turned into such a petty and whiny character that annoyed the crap out of me. Sonny made such bad decisions throughout the whole novel. She had thousands of opportunities to clean up the mess she made, but instead she left it to pile up bigger and bigger until she couldn’t ignore it any longer. She did have family issues that made her the way she is, but she still could have been more rational about her decisions.

Amy is Sonny’s best friend who plays a large role in the novel. Now Amy is said to be the complete opposite of Sonny, being all quiet, polite and the nicest person to ever walk the face of the Earth. But there was something that bothered me about Amy’s character. Sonny talked and talked during the entirety of the novel about how nice Amy is, how sweet, how innocent. But we never actually really see Amy be all those things. Sure she’s nice, but it’s more like we’re told by the author: “Amy is an amazing friend and the sweetest human possible. Like her.” I don’t like it when I’m told to like a character. I need to be shown, not told how a character acts. Amy just felt flat to me.

Ryder is Sonny’s love interest. At the beginning of Lying Out Loud, Ryder is this obnoxious and rude new guy in school, who’s SURPRISE extremely good looking. At first I didn’t like him because he was negative 24/7 and would complain about the tinniest things. But as Sonny started talking to him, I found myself liking his character quite a bit. He was funny, sweet and a bit awkward. He deserved way better than Sonny to be honest, considering she was doing something really terrible to him. Ryder also had his flaws, but nothing I couldn’t get over.

Overall:

Really quick and entertaining read with an annoying main character, but with a fun set of events. It’s great for getting out of slumps or just for when you’re feeling like reading something silly. Plus characters from all of Kody Keplinger’s other books make an appearance in this one! It was great seeing Wesley and Bianca from The DUFF again!

Hope you all had a lovely day and I’ll see you in my next post!♥

3 thoughts on “Lying Out Loud- Review

Leave a Reply

