Favourite Novellas/Short Stories | Top Ten Tuesday

I don’t often reach for novellas and short stories because I prefer to read in-depth characterisation and storytelling. Most of the novellas I do pick up are companions to series I’ve already read. However I feel like they’re such nice additions and always leave me satisfied because I’ve learnt something new about characters I love! So let’s get started.

Image result for destroy me

1. Destroy Me (Shatter Me 1.5) – Remember when everyone was team Adam in book one of Shatter Me? Yeah me either, but that was an actual thing back then and I was a part of it. However I remember reading Destroy Me before continuing onto Unravel Me and completely changing my opinion of Warner! I’ve been a Warnette shipper ever since and haven’t looked back.

Image result for maybe not cover

2. Maybe Not (Maybe Someday 1.5) – Maybe Someday was my first Colleen Hoover book and apart from the main couple, I really loved the character of Warren. He was so witty and brought some much needed comic relief to the novel. Well in this novella we follow him as he tries to seduce his cold-hearted and temperamental girl roommate. What could go wrong? Very short and sweet hate to love romance.

Image result for the bane chronicles

3. The Bane Chronicles – While reading all the Shadowhunter books we always hear snippets of Magnus’s crazy adventures and doings. Well in this collection of 11 short-stories we get to read those experiences as they happened! I love Magnus so much and reading about his shenanigans dating back hundreds of years ago was a very fun time.

Image result for the assassin's blade cover

3. The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass, 0.1-0.5) –  A few years ago I was a big fan of the Throne of Glass series and had to pick up this collection of 5 novellas. The bind-up takes place before Throne of Glass and follows Celeana as she goes on various dangerous missions as a member of the Assassin’s Guild. I was completely blown away by this novella because I hadn’t expected to love it so much. If I’m being honest I probably enjoyed it more than the actual series (the first three books I’ve read of it).

Image result for stars above cover

4. Stars Above (Lunar Chronicles 4.5) – Finishing Winter and then reading this novella was the perfect combination and conclusion to such an amazing series! It was great to see the aftermath of the events that took place in the last book and to know what the characters were up to in the future! After Winter I was not ready to let go of the characters and world just yet and this novella gave me the closure I needed.

Image result for every heart a doorway cover

5. Every Heart a Doorway, Down Among the Sticks and Bones, Beneath the Sugar Sky – This companion series is seriously becoming one of my favourites this year! I know I talk about these books a lot but it’s for good reason. They’re so unique, whimsy and dark. The characters are all so lovable and the representation is amazing. Thank god there’s another two books coming out in the series because I can’t get enough!


Have you read any of the novellas I’ve mentioned? Do you think there’s any other novellas I should check out? Did you do the TTT topic this week? Let’s chat in the comments ♥

Until next post,

marades

30 thoughts on “Favourite Novellas/Short Stories | Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Rissi says:

    I still haven’t read any of the “Lunar Chronicles” – novellas or full-length. But someday.

    Though I haven’t seen them around or know anything about them, your last pick (companion series) sure looks interesting. I love the “atmosphere” the covers create and how the text is placed. Make me want to discover what the story is all about. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mara says:

      The Lunar Chronicles can be a bit intimidating because all the books are quite long but I really think it’s a series most people would adore! The series gets better with each book so I would really encourage you to give it a go!😊

      The Wayward Children companion series is a must try! The content is even more beautiful and intriguing than the covers, plus they’re really short so you would get through them in no time!
      Happy reading😊

      Like

  2. hatterell says:

    I don’t often reach for short stories, because I often want more and feel dissatisfied at the end – that being said, I also agree that The Assassin’s Blade is better than the other books, it drew way more emotion out of me. I’ve read the first Seanan McGuire novella and loved it, I’m just waiting to find an inexpensive way to read them as they’re pretty pricey in the U.K. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lois says:

    I don’t read a lot of novella’s either, but I have seen that anthologies are becoming more and more popular. I loved the Stars Above collection, it gave me that sense of closure I needed from the series. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment